It’s Been a Long, Long Time

(The gorgeous song associated with my blog post title)

Well, helloooooo there!  I realize it’s been quite a while since I last wrote anything.  I kept thinking it was because nothing interesting had happened, but then I realized I was kidding myself, and I was just procrastinating from this post.  Because in reality, so many exciting things have happened!

So first, it’s my senior year at Mount Holyoke College.  More specifically, it’s my final semester at Mount Holyoke College.  And to be honest, I haven’t quite realized it yet.  I’m sure it will occur to me minutes before my graduation, and I’ll be a puddle of nerves and excitement, not to mention sweating in my graduation gown.

I spent fall semester singing in two ensembles, as usual, and applying to graduate programs, on top of taking physics, geomorphology, and my senior capstone course (if you’re more interested in my education and research, check out my professional website).  For this semester, I’m taking a GIS course (electronic global mapping and information systems), a grad-level volcanology course (live long and prosper), doing some personal research, and working as a lab assistant for the History of the Earth class, along with my two choral ensembles and performing in a musical, as well as my own senior music recital (I’m so excited!!).

In December I got my tonsils removed, which was… an experience, to say the least.  I won’t bore you with the details, but let’s just say that if you ever start bleeding inside your mouth, whatever you do, DO NOT SWALLOW THE BLOOD.  Just trust me on this one.

While recovering from the surgery, and zoned out from prescription pain medications, I received an email of acceptance from my top-choice graduate program.  Needless to say, I was so tired and drugged that I forgot to be excited about it.  Though I did manage to forward the email to my parents, advisor, and best friends.  Of course, I then rolled over and fell back asleep.  Now that I’m fully recovered I can finally celebrate!  Woo-hoo!

My father flies for United Airlines, and for one day in mid-January I was able to hop on one of the flights to Paris, France.  I slept in economy on the 8-hour flight to Paris, spent a whole day wandering the city and seeing the sights, and then the next day, got upgraded to Business First where I ate a 3-course meal (along with a free beer) in the world’s comfiest airplane seat.

And now, January break is over, and my final semester has begun.  Yet less than a week into the semester and Massachusetts is braving itself for a blizzard, and, of course, my college has preemptively closed the campus for tomorrow.  Thankfully, I was able to make it back to campus from my volcanology course before the buses shut down for the night.  Now to brave the worst!  But hey, if I can survive a tonsillectomy, I can survive anything!

Leave a Reply

