dye, dyE, DYE!!

Recently, I decided to do what I’ve been waiting 4 years to do: dye my hair purple.  Now, in order to do that, I had to bleach my hair first.  I wanted my hair to have an ombre effect–from medium brown all the way into bright purple ends. The local salon here foiled my hair with bleach and a little brown dye to get that ombre effect, then applied Manic Panic’s Ultra Violet to my hair, and sat my under a hot dryer for about half an hour.  I didn’t quite understand why heat helps with dying more until I stumbled across this lovely scientific blog post.  I wish I had found it before I got my hair dyed, because I didn’t realize anti-dandruff shampoo is more likely to strip the color away, and so the color doesn’t last as long!  The general consensus is that the more acidic a shampoo, the less it will strip away the color because the less it opens up the shingles on your hair strands.

Now I deal with dandruff and an oily scalp, so my shampoo is pretty heavy-duty stuff.  Given that I’m trying to keep my hair color around as long as possible, I’m going to be experimenting over the next few weeks with different types of hair cleansers.  I’ll try baking soda, mild, sulfate-free soap, tea tree oil shampoo, and my normal dandruff shampoo, and I’ll see how long it takes for the color to fade, and how oily my scalp is by the end of the next day.  Or, because I’m lazy and impatient, I’ll not do any of that, and just try to buy an acidic, sulfate-free shampoo to use in place of my current shampoo.  We’ll just have to wait and see.

 

Manic Panic Ultra Violet after 1 wash

 

Manic Panic Ultra Violet after 3 washes

 

Leave a Reply

