Accidental Discovery

Today I discovered that honey can act as hair gel.  Completely by accident.  It’s a pretty phenomenal hair gel, also.  But let’s be clear, it dries stiff and crunchy like gel, not malleable like pomade or clay.

I actually ran out of micellar a week or so ago, and since then, I have been washing my face with honey as an experiment.  It does almost as well as the micellar water does to get my face clean and glowing and well-moisturized.  Almost.  So I at least know what to use as a backup now.  The problem is washing the honey off your face.  If you’re like me, you’re liable to get honey in the hair on your hairline while washing your face.  I did that last night.  This morning I woke to crunchy hair roots and thought, “Huh, that’s interesting” and then proceeded to brush and style my hair into an updo.  So far, not a single stray hair gone awry, and I’ve usually got at least 10 by now.

So that’s fun.  I’m thinking if I mix it with water I can make a spray gel for when I really need some spray-on action.

Leave a Reply

