Lemon.

So cute!

Sketch Away: Travels with my sketchbook

This is a really tiny piece, 4 inches square. Painted on a very small 4×6 Fluid watercolor pad I’ve had for a while but haven’t used much. 10 minutes on a rainy day, testing some new colors, painting the first thing I  found on my kitchen counter: a lemon.

2 passes at this. I can’t call them glazes because I didn’t wait for pass#1 to dry before adding in pass #2.

Here is what went in first.
lemon1inprogress

And then the rest: the detailing in watercolors, a little bit of line in ink and some white gouache, all on a sort-of wet base.
lemon1

These are the 4 main colors I used: The New Gamboge is new to my palette as is the Transparent Pyrrol Orange, which I am loving: you can see it in action in that shadow. And my blues, I just love these two blues: The French Ultramarine is a favorite with almost…

View original post 70 more words

Leave a Reply

