Breathe Easy! Sinus Balm

So I wish I could come up with better names for this kind of stuff.  But naming aside, this stuff I made is pretty darn good.  Taking inspiration from Humblebee & Me’s Essential Oil Cold and Flu Roller and Rocky Mountain Foot Butter, I decided I wanted something similar: an oil-based menthol treatment that you could apply to sinus stress points to help clear your nose.  Having experiences some pretty rowdy allergies the past week or so (ranging from pollen to food allergies), I figured a homemade decongesting powerhouse was exactly what I needed.

I made the Foot Balm a week or so ago and loved the way it acted like Vick’s Vapo-Rub on me.  The menthol really helped clear out the attic, while the cocoa and shea butters melted nicely and left my skin feeling refreshed as well.  However, looking at the recipe for the Essential Oil Cold and Flu Roller, I realized I wanted a much more practical applicator like the rollers used there, but didn’t want the drying effect of the alcohol.  And so, this roller was a combination of the two recipes.

  • 1g | rose wax (or Shea butter + floral EO)
  • 10g | safflower oil (or grapeseed oil)
  • 5g | jojoba oil
  • 2 medium | menthol crystals

Melt the above ingredients and remove from heat after combining, then add:

  • 10 drops | cedar essential oil (or other coniferous tree oil)

Decant into 2-4 rollerball applicators.  Roll onto temples, under your nose, and on your cheekbones.  Revel in the decongestant bliss!  For a more powerful tingle, increase the menthol concentration (1 crystal at a time).  For less powerful, replace the menthol with 5 drops of peppermint.

Leave a Reply

