DIY Cream Foundation

Makeup is a love/love/I’m-frustrated relationship with me.  I love makeup, I love wearing makeup, I get frustrated when makeup doesn’t love me back.  Even with my journey of making my own makeup, it took me a few tries to really get it right; this blend wasn’t the right color, that blend was too cakey, this other blend made me break out… Makeup truly is an art.

This blend was actually inspired by a product from Lush, which was then turned into a recipe by Humblebee & Me, which I made and then accidentally mixed with my powder foundation base.  To my great delight, I ended up rubbing cream foundation on my face with wonderful results!  And the best part is, it’s not too oily or too drying.  One of the wonders of the world, finding a skin product like that!

img_0025
Cream foundation not blended (left) and blended (right)

Made of sea buckthorn, rosehip, evening primrose and argan oil (the recipe called for moringa but I didn’t have any so I improvised), as well as mango butter, the base cream leaves a dry finish on the skin while keeping it moisturized and happy  The arrowroot starch helps give a matte finish as well as dilute the oxides I added a bit more for a more natural finish.  My color powder included sericite mica as well so my face doesn’t end up looking too matte, which isn’t my thing so much, but if you like the matte look, leave out the mica!

fullsizerender-2
Lovely goodies packed into a single container!

Before I mixed the powder into my moisturizer itself, I had my boyfriend try a dab on his face and I’m happy to say the man is ecstatic with the results!  In fact, I just used the last of my sea buckthorn oil to make a big batch for him, he liked it so much.  Now I need to restock on a lot of things, actually.  I really suggest you try out the Mattifying Moisturizer yourself, you won’t be sorry!

I’m still testing out some varieties of hair styling products, so that will take a few more tries to get right and report back.  In the meantime, happy making!

Leave a Reply

