Apple Cranberry Pie

For the longest time, I was not a fan of pie.  I would have just rather eaten a handful of berries or even a smoothie.  But as I got older, I started to cook more and more for myself, and then I started branching out into new gastronomical territories.  And then, once I discovered a wonderful pie crust recipe, I wanted to start baking pies.  

So I started with raspberry pie, which I made back in Virginia with my family.  It was really good, but I still wasn’t converted to pies.  As I kept moving from place to place I would challenge myself to try pie whenever it showed up somewhere — potlucks, friend’s houses, etc.  Slowly, I grew fond of pie.

Now, it’s 3 years later, and I’ve just made a delicious Autumn Delight pie.  That’s what I call it, at least, but honestly, it’s mostly just apples.  My landlady gave us a huge bag of apples the other day and I wanted to do something with them.  So I whipped up a crust, mixed together apples, raw cranberry juice, cinnamon, nutmeg and maple syrup for a lovely, pink-tinted, maple-y pie filling.

Blind-bake the crust, fill it up, top it off with more crust, and bake for 30 minutes at 425 F.  Easy as … pie!

Leave a Reply

