DIY Opaque, Matte Eyeshadow

It’s VERY close to Halloween, and if you’re anything like me, you love to dress up.  Of course, with trends that come and go, sometimes finding the right makeup to do the job (without making you break out) is not only difficult but sometimes impossible!

So I decided to make my own! (No surprise there.)

I planned on having my costume channel my inner 1960s jet-setter style, featuring sharp cat-eye makeup and bright red lips.  So I did some research and found looks to emulate.  Of course, there was the ever-iconic Twiggy-esque look, with bright white lids and painted lashes:

twiggy-applying-makeup
Twiggy applying makeup

But there were also the elegant celebrities who wore makeup more akin to styles from the 1940s and 1950s:

But the bold eyes of the 1960s didn’t totally eliminate a red lip:

86e0d0c1bdc5797c9c107b3ccd751e1b
1960 advertisement for Cutex

But enough of the history lesson, onto the makeup!

I wanted my eyeshadow to be a super opaque, matte powder that can be applied both wet and dry, so I decided to keep it simple.  Just a few ingredients that come together in a snap!

OPAQUE MINERAL EYESHADOW

  • 1/2 tsp | Titanium Dioxide
  • 1/4 tsp | Sericite Mica
  • 1/8 tsp | Magnesium Stearate
  • 1/8 tsp | Arrowroot Starch
  • 5 drops | Jojoba oil

Blend in a (clean!) coffee grinder and once the dust settles, pack the powder into a compact tin, or just use loose!  If you want more of a mid-late 1960s shadow to play with, blend in a TINY bit (1/32 tsp or less) of blue or green ultramarine for a gorgeous matte pastel shade.  If you want shimmer, add sparkly mica!  Pair with a nude lip (this or this) and a mod cat eye (try this!) and you’re ready to go!

UPDATE: I find the arrowroot starch helps with the wet application and hinders the dry — for a straight-up, easy to apply eyeshadow, I recommend you drop it.

Here’s what it looks like applied both dry and wet:

 

 

Left: dry; Right: wet

 

 

Eyeliner and shadow together for a mod look:

Left: Strong shadow and liner; Right: Soft shadow

Two mod makeup concepts for my Halloween costume:

Leave a Reply

