Copycat Besame Cosmetics Brightening Violet Powder

If you’re a DIY-er who loves makeup and vintage things (like me) then you’ve probably spent a few hours trying to reconcile your DIY habits with your love for Besame Cosmetics (or other brand).  


I love Besame Cosmetics.  The only problem is, it’s a bit out of my price range.  At $15 for a tiny foundation powder and $25 for setting powder, I was breaking the bank every few months in order to achieve that gorgeous skin I always wanted.


Once I broke into DIY-ing and acquired a large enough stock of supplies, I started playing around with making my own makeup.  Each time it was a failure.  Then suddenly one day I was struck with inspiration that now, admittedly, seems rather obvious.  I can just use the ingredients list from my favorite makeup brands!  So I did the research, found out what I needed, and came up with this:

  • 1 1/4 tsp | arrowroot starch
  • 1 tsp | zinc oxide
  • 1/4 tsp | sericite mica
  • 1/32 tsp | violet ultramarine (adjust as necessary based on richness of purple oxide used)
  • 4-6 drops | lavender oil
  • 4-6 drops | geranium oil
  • 1 small blob | benzoin oil

Put them all together and blend!  I found that for a true setting powder, just the Essential Oils were enough to keep the powder together, but for a compact powder or a less-drying powder, add a few drops of jojoba oil (or similar oil) as well.  And if you prefer a different color correcting powder, such as rose or vanilla, then change out your oxides + oils to red + geranium/palmarosa/rose and yellow + benzoin/vanilla, respectively.

Look at that gorgeous violet hue

The result smells sweet, is ever-so-slightly purple tinted, and sets makeup wonderfully.  Not to mention, I saved all my old Besame Cosmetics containers to hold my new makeup, so I still feel fabulous when putting it on, all for wayyyy less than the original product.

Ta-da! Smooth, finished skin
Leave a Reply

